The Research Continues …

Recently, I have realised that it would be important for my future to do some research in architect firms (and of course interior firms).

There is one particular website which has grabbed my attention; dezeen.com which share new designs and work for architecture, interiors and design in general. This website is essentially an online magazine that is truly inspirational and shares exactly the type of architecture (and interiors) which I would love to be involved with in the future.

I think research into these types of firms is the key to success in anything. Knowing the sort of practice you would like to work for is the first step, and I think I have narrowed that down quite well (but without being too picky).

I will be studying interior design at university, but my dream job would be working for the interiors department at a firm of architects so I am still very closely linked with architecture as a whole.

I have now created a “database” (word document) which contains the possible work places I would be happy to work for in the future – and even as work experience/intern-ships/placements etc. during my university course. These include: SpaceLab, Allen Jack & Cottier (based in Australia), Rare Architecture and LOHA Architects.

As advice to you, having a goal or aim to where you want to be, who you want to be working for – is always the best place to start. You can then work backwards from that or decide on a suitable route to get to that place you want to be. You may find that the only way you can get there is to obtain suitable work experience related to your field, so don’t be put down when you can’t go straight to the work company you initially wanted.

Hard work pays off in the future. 

Leave a Reply

