Second Significant Piece

My second significant piece is finally finished. After hard work printing, and constantly on the sewing machine, I think it has all paid off.

The start - edge stitching, arranging and planning.

After my first significant piece, I think this is definitely a step up; my skills have improved and you can definitely see them throughout the piece.

The First Stages - Looking at the print.

I am so pleased with how my printing has gone, I was so keen to really get going and work on something larger than my first.

I have used the whole of the orange fabric print and made this into a wall hanging. It contains my appliqué skills (also from my first significant piece) and general machine stitching.

Along the way, there were a few issues with the sewing machine (on a few occasions I really did think I had properly broken it!!!). But the only that was holding me back was that the wodding which I had put behind it was too thick to properly go through the machine. This was – admittedly – quite a stupid mistake but as my first significant piece was so successful I thought it would be okay.

Here is my finished piece!!

My Finished Piece!!

I am very pleased with this piece because I have taken all of my skills and produced something different and more exciting than before.

Detail - Bottom Part

Detail - Top

Detail - Middle Appliqué

And finally, my last photograph for you …

Detail - Middle Left

Yes, some of my machine stitching is a little wonky in places, but I think this is nevertheless and successful piece, and I am very proud of myself for overcoming my difficulties and pursuing it until the end.

Leave a Reply

